Tag Archives: 21st FAI World Hot Air Balloon Championship

Winners of Europeans 2019

2nd Laurynas Komža LTU, 1st Stefan Zeberli SUI, 3rd Nicolas Schwartz FRA

21st European Hot Air Balloon Championship in Mallorca ended after 5 flights and 16 tasks.

Congratulations to all the pilots and teams, europeans and worlds are dope thanks to you all. Thanks to the whole national team for the help and healthy rivalry. It makes us stronger and more focused.

Thanks to David Bareford and his team for a challenging and interesting championship. It wasn’t an easy job to do with such a weather forecast on an mediterranean island, but we had it all: slow winds, fast take off, fog, clouds, missed targets, mud, all sorts of flags and great effort from all the pilots.

Thanks to Ricardo Aracil and his fantastic team for this event that we won’t forget. And we definitely won’t forget the award ceremonies, both of MBT and Europeans.

The 22nd European Hot Air Balloon Championship will be in  Szeged, Hungary. See you there!

Photo and text credit Balloon Club Lituanica

And Brazil it will be! – Letter of CIA president

FAI CIA logoThe CIA Plenary Meeting, held in Rio de Janeiro on March 22 and 23, has finally decided. The 21st FAI World Hot Air Balloon Championship will be held in San Carlos/Brazil in 2013. This decision came along after long, difficult and tiresome discussions at the Plenary, but to the satisfaction of a majority of the delegates present. Competitors may now confidently start their preparations.
The Brazilian organisers confirmed the appointment of Event Director Mathijs Debruijn and Deputy Event Director David Levin. They also announced that a non-sanctioned Pre-Worlds event will be held in San Carlos in July 2013.
Detailed information regarding the free transportation of the 70 balloons in 2014 has been promised to become available sometime during the year.
I am glad that the this issue has finally been decided, and I wish all those who plan to participate a lot of fun and perfect competitions.

Buoyant regards,
JC Weber, president
FAI Ballooning Commission