Category Archives: Results

Open Serbian Championship 2013

The Open Serbian Championship 2013 held in Despotovac and Jagodina at last long weekend. We had pilots from Austria, Hungary, Serbia and Slovenia. We enjoyed the warm and very freindly hospitality of local people. The weather was very exciting as you may see on the photos but we had three flights.

Open Serbian Championship 2013

The Serbian Champion is Srdjan Srdic and the results of Open Serbian Championship:

  1. Johann Almer (AUT)
  2. Lidija Kosi (SLO)
  3. Silvo Vohar (SLO)
Mammatus clouds in Serbia

Mammatus clouds in Serbia

Ice in the air

Ice in the air


Sunset behind the rain

Sunset behind the rain

Rainbow on the Eastern sky

Rainbow on the Eastern sky

All results are published here. More photos are on the Facebook.

Dutch Balloon Trophy 2013 – finally 3 flights nine tasks

Dutch Balloon Trophy 2013We finished the Dutch Balloon Trophy. We 3 flights nine tasks in difficult weather situation. All results in final and published on the Electronic Notice Board.

Dutch Balloon Trophy 2013

  1. Steven Vlegels 6832
  2. David Bareford 6695
  3. Johannes Kooistra 6194

Dutch Champion 2013 – Johannes Kooistra

Belgian Champion 2013 – Steven Vlegels

Rookie of the year

  1. Kim Larsen 7194
  2. Rupert Stanley 6860
  3. Erik Pals



3rd Serbian Hot Air Balloon Open Championship & 9th Senta Cup

3rd Serbian Hot Air Balloon Open Championship & 9th Senta CupAfter four flight and five tasks the final results are

9th Zenta Cup
1. János Konecsni
2. Szabolcs Garab
3. Péter Nagy

Serbian Champion 2012: Srdjan Srdic

All results are published here.

We had three flight already and four tasks. So, the Championship is valid and we can award the Serbian Champion who is Srdjan Srdic because unfortunetly no more pilot from the country. The Senta Cup is still open and the last flight will be tomorrow morning.


Gordon Bennet Cup 2012 with 17 balloons started yesterday evening

Gordon Bennett Cup 2012The Gordon Bennet Cup (or Coupe Aéronautique Gordon Bennett) is the most famous aviation event in the world and is the ultimate challenge for balloon pilots and their equipment. The objectives of the race are simple: to fly the furthest distance from the start in the open wicker basket of a gas balloon.

This international gas balloon competition was initiated in 1906 by the adventurer and newspaper magnate James Gordon Bennett. In that year 16 balloons started from the gardens of the former Tuileries Palace in Paris. None of those present to see the event could possibly have imagined that the race would continue to be staged right into the 21st century.

The 56th race will take place in 2012, 106 years after that first race. The rules remain almost unchanged. The winner will be the team that flies the longest distance in a straight line between the start and the landing point. The actual distance flown and the time taken are of no significance. The competing balloons are allowed a maximum volume of 1050 cubic meters (about 37’080 cubic feet). The pilot and co-pilot must be the same nationality and their country must also be a member of the FAI (Fédération Aéronautique Internationale). Each country may enter a maximum of 3 teams. The winning country has the right to stage the next-but-one race, normally 2 years later.

All teams are airborne now. In time for the launch-sequence the moon lit friendly onto the scenery. While the brass-band was playing the national anthems live, competitors took to the sky high above Switzerland.

Launchtimes (local time)

  1. AUT 2, Scherzer / Wagner: 22:27
  2. GER 1, Lausch / Lausch: 22:30
  3. FRA 2, Pelard / Peterle: 22:34
  4. RUS 1, Tyukhtyaev / Grishin: 22:41
  5. ESP 1, Gonzalez / Aguirre: 22:46
  6. USA 1, Fricke / Cuneo: 22:50
  7. GBR 1, Hempleman-Adams / Carey: 22:53
  8. SUI 2, Mattenberger / Krebs: 22:57
  9. AUT 1, Stuerzlinger / Herndl: 22:59
  10. GER 2, Hora / Löschhorn: 23:02
  11. FRA 1, Rolland / Leys: 23:06
  12. USA 2, Cayton / Manuel: 23:10
  13. GBR 2, Wood / Rose: 23:13
  14. SUI 1, Frieden / Witpraechtiger: 23:17
  15. GER 3, Eimers / Zenge: 23:21
  16. USA 3, Sullivan / White: 23:25
  17. SUI 3, Gschwendtner / Gerber: 23:30

Live tracing here.